WOMAN POWER

The Liberation

 The history of emancipation can also look back on a long and rocky road with regard to the development of bathing culture: For over 100 years, women on many continents fought against social morals and political bathing regulations. Swimming, especially in the open sea, was still life-threatening until the 20th century due to the prescribed amount of clothing. Through the tireless efforts of competitive swimmers, more comfortable and permissive swimwear gradually emerged. Today, modern swimwear is characterised by its diversity in terms of designs and ways of wearing it: From the micro-bikini to the burkini, everything is represented. Whether and to what extent a woman shows her body while bathing should ultimately be her individual decision - regardless of the "ideal bikini figure" that is often propagated in the media and advertising world.

JANARA
With bikini and boxing gloves for women's liberation

 JANARA is representative of the triumphant progress of the liberation of women. The liberation of the female body into comfortable and safe swimwear was a struggle for every inch of fabric. There were a number of very strong women who, over time, fought for the self-determination of women in society. "Woman Power" is one of the central themes in the BikiniARTmuseum and JANARA the corresponding symbolic figure.

10 meters of concentrated Woman Power - A monument for courageous women

 JANARA is enthroned in imposing size on the roof of the museum. She represents a girl from the 1950s wearing a bikini and boxing gloves in a winning pose. The creator of the figure, created with great grace and feeling, is Doris Geraldi, a well-known sculpture artist from Rio de Janeiro. In the monastery of Maria Laach, master blacksmith Edgar Radar and his team of seven took up the challenge of forging the almost 10-metre tall symbolic figure of the BikiniARTmuseum. "Janara" comes from the language of the indigenous people of the Amazon and means "princess of sweet water".  

Thousands Needs

Thousands Need a Helping Hand

Contribute on my charity work by your donation.

WOMAN POWER

Die befreiung

 Die Geschichte der Emanzipation kann auch im Hinblick auf die Entwicklung der Badekultur auf einen langen und steinigen Weg zurückblicken: Frauen kämpften über 100 Jahre auf vielen Kontinenten gegen gesellschaftliche Moralvorstellungen und politische Badevorgaben. Schwimmen war insbesondere im offenen Meer noch bis ins 20. Jahrhundert hinein aufgrund der vorgeschriebenen Kleiderfülle mitunter lebensgefährlich. Durch den unermüdlichen Einsatz der Wettkampfschwimmerinnen entstand schrittweise eine komfortablere und freizügigere Badebekleidung. Moderne Bademode zeichnet sich heute hinsichtlich der Designs und Trageweisen insbesondere durch ihre Vielfalt aus: Vom Mikro-Bikini bis zum Burkini ist alles vertreten. Ob und inwieweit eine Frau ihren Körper beim Baden zeigt, sollte letztendlich ihre individuelle Entscheidung sein – unabhängig von der „idealen Bikini-Figur", die häufig in der Medien- und Werbewelt propagiert  wird.

JANARA 
Mit Bikini und Boxhandschuhen für die Befreiung der Frau

 JANARA steht stellvertretend für den Siegeszug der Befreiung der Frau.  Die Befreiung des weiblichen Körpers zu bequemer und sicherer Badekleidung war ein Kampf um jeden Zentimeter Stoff.  Es gab eine Reihe von sehr starken Frauen, die sich im Laufe der Zeit für die Selbstbestimmung der Frau in der Gesellschaft einsetzten. „Woman Power“ ist eines der zentralen Themen im BikiniARTmuseum und JANARA die dazugehörige Symbolfigur.

10 Meter geballte Woman Power – Ein Denkmal für mutige Frauen

 Auf dem Dach des Museums thront JANARA in imposanter Größe. Sie stellt ein Mädchen aus den 1950er Jahren mit Bikini und Boxhandschuhen in Gewinnerpose dar. Schöpferin, der mit viel Grazie und Gefühl geschaffenen Figur, ist Doris Geraldi, eine bekannte Skulpturenkünstlerin aus Rio de Janeiro. Im Kloster Maria Laach stellte sich Kunstschmiedemeister Edgar Radar mit seinem siebenköpfigen Team der Herausforderung, die knapp 10 Meter große Symbolfigur des BikiniARTmuseums zu schmieden. „Janara“ stammt von der Sprache der Ur-Einwohner des Amazons ab und bedeutet „Prinzessin des süßen Wassers“.  

Thousands Needs

Thousands Need a Helping Hand

Contribute on my charity work by your donation.