Body Positivity

Our mission: Empowering women to be courageous 

 The mission of the BikiniARTmuseum is to encourage women of any age, figure or ethnicity to be "brave" and to break away from conventional beauty ideals a little. Women are at their most beautiful when they feel good about themselves and are happy with themselves. That is why the museum also pays tribute to women with disabilities or limitations due to childbirth, accidents and illness, thus revealing how diverse beauty can be. The BikiniARTmuseum is a tribute to the determined pioneers and forerunners of yesterday and today.

Body Positivity - What is there to see in the exhibition? 

Beauty ideals through the ages: from Aphrodite to Kim Kardashian

 "Beauty" is always subject to change over time and was defined differently in different epochs. Connections between the social and political situations of the respective epochs can be recognised. While in times of hardship the focus was more on strong, well-fed bodies, in the modern world of abundance a slim, well-trained body is considered aesthetic. The exhibition documents the development of the ideal of beauty from antiquity to the present and exemplifies the complexity and diversity of the perennial myth of "beauty". 

#DisabledAndSexy: Beauty and disability are not opposites

 In addition to disabilities that exist from birth, physical limitations can also result from accidents or illness and fundamentally change the lives of the people affected. The exhibition shows that beauty and disability are by no means opposites and pays tribute to the snowboarder Brenna Huckaby, who was the first model with a prosthetic leg to appear in a bikini on the cover of the "Swimsuit Issue" of "Sports Illustrated", as well as to the commitment of the German swimwear manufacturer "Anita", which produces breast prostheses and articles with the "Anita care" line that are specially tailored to the needs of breast amputees.

Every age is beautiful!

 Even today, the natural ageing process is still fraught with many taboos. Young and flawless bodies are generally regarded as the aesthetic ideal, while ageing people are almost invisible in the media. The exhibition uses strong female personalities such as the 80-year-old surfer icon Kathy Kohner-Zuckerman or the 97-year-old Munich opera singer Ruth Megary to illustrate that passionate sporting activity or the self-confident wearing of a swimsuit are neither dependent on figure nor age.

Plus-size models as revolutionaries of the fashion world

 The era of the so-called skinny models reached its peak at the end of the 20th and early 21st century. As the international fashion industry received massive criticism because of the numerous anorexic models, they increasingly resorted to plus-size models. While the measurements of regular mannequins correspond to a dress size 34/36, "curvies" wear clothing sizes 40 to 52. In the exhibition, both international plus-size models such as Ashley Graham and German mannequins and bloggers such as Angelina Kirsch or Charlotte Kuhrt are celebrated as revolutionaries of the fashion and media world who challenge the slim ideal of beauty through their commitment to a diverse and positive body image. 

Quite pregnant! Expectant mothers through the ages

 Although pregnancy and motherhood are inextricably interwoven with a multitude of women's lives and are considered the epitome of femininity, women in these significant stages of life were often declared asexual beings in the past, forbidden for moral reasons to dress revealingly or expose their bodies. In the exhibition, pregnancy is problematised as an aesthetic and social taboo and, with the help of courageous protagonists such as the Brazilian actress Leila Diniz or the Hollywood icon Demi Moore, it is illustrated that showing a baby bump still came up against moral limits in the recent past. 

Sex Sells!? - Sexualised depictions of girls in bikinis in advertising

 Bikini-wearing advertising girls have their origins in the pin-up art that emerged during the Second World War. Lightly clad women were often depicted on the noses of American wartime airmen to add a touch of optimism to the horrors of war. Soon after, pin-up girls were also seen on matchboxes, biscuit tins or tin cans and became increasingly established in advertising concepts everywhere. In addition to this historical outline, the exhibition also discusses in a differentiated way how women in bikinis were increasingly instrumentalised as product advertising media in the course of the sexual revolution in the late 1960s and to what extent the depiction of lightly clad women's bodies currently enrages people. 

Thousands Needs

Thousands Need a Helping Hand

Contribute on my charity work by your donation.

Body Positivity

Unsere Mission: Frauen bestärken, mutig zu sein 

 Die Mission des BikiniARTmuseums ist es, Frauen jeden Alters, Figur oder Ethnie zu bestärken, „mutig“ zu sein und sich von konventionellen Schönheitsidealen ein Stück weit zu lösen. Frau ist am schönsten, wenn sie sich wohlfühlt und mit sich zufrieden ist. Deshalb werden im Museum ebenso Frauen mit Behinderungen oder Einschränkungen durch Geburt, Unfall und Krankheit gewürdigt, wodurch zum Vorschein kommt, wie vielfältig Schönheit sein kann.  Das BikiniARTmuseum ist eine Hommage an die entschlossenen Wegbereiterinnen und Vorausgängerinnen im Gestern und Heute.

Body Positivity – Was gibt es in der Ausstellung zu sehen? 

Schönheitsideale im Wandel der Zeit: Von Aphrodite bis Kim Kardashian

 „Schönheit“ unterliegt stets dem Wandel der Zeit und wurde zu unterschiedlichen Epochen verschieden definiert. Dabei lassen sich Zusammenhänge zwischen den gesellschaftlichen und politischen Situationen der jeweiligen Epoche erkennen. Während in Zeiten der Not der Fokus eher auf kräftigen, wohlgenährten Körpern lag, gilt in der modernen Welt des Überflusses eher ein schlanker, durchtrainierter Körper als ästhetisch. Die Ausstellung dokumentiert die Entwicklung des Schönheitsideals von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart und fächert exemplarisch die Vielschichtigkeit und Diversität des fortwährend bestehenden Mythos „Schönheit“ auf. 

#DisabledAndSexy: Schönheit und Behinderung sind keine Gegensätze

 Neben Behinderungen, die von Geburt an existieren, können auch durch Unfall oder Krankheit körperliche Einschränkungen entstehen und das Leben der betroffenen Menschen grundlegend verändern. Die Ausstellung zeigt, dass Schönheit und Behinderung mitnichten Gegensätze darstellen und würdigt hierbei u. a. die Snowboarderin Brenna Huckaby, die als erstes Model mit Beinprothese im Bikini auf dem Cover der „Swimsuit Issue“ der „Sports Illustrated“ abgebildet wurde sowie das Engagement des deutschen Bademodenherstellers „Anita“, der mit der Linie „Anita care“ Brustprothesen und Artikel produziert, die eigens auf die Bedürfnisse brustamputierter Frauen zugeschnitten sind.

Jedes Alter ist schön!

 Der natürliche Alterungsprozess ist auch heute noch mit vielen Tabus behaftet. Jugendliche und makellose Körper gelten gemeinhin als ästhetisches Ideal, während alternde Menschen in den Medien nahezu unsichtbar sind. In der Ausstellung wird anhand starker Frauenpersönlichkeiten wie der 80-jährigen Surfer-Ikone Kathy Kohner-Zuckerman oder der 97-jährigen Münchner Opernsängerin Ruth Megary veranschaulicht, dass passionierte sportliche Aktivität oder das selbstbewusste Tragen eines Badekleidungsstücks weder von Figur noch Alter abhängig sind.

Plus-Size-Models als Revolutionärinnen der Modewelt

 Die Ära der sogenannten Magermodels erreichte Ende des 20. und frühen 21. Jh. ihren Höhepunkt. Da die internationale Modebranche aufgrund der zahlreichen magersüchtigen Models massive Kritik erntete, griff man zunehmend auf Plus-Size-Models zurück. Während die Maße regulärer Mannequins einer Kleidergröße 34/36 entsprechen, tragen „Curvys“ die Konfektionsgrößen 40 bis 52. In der Ausstellung werden sowohl internationale Plus-Size-Models wie Ashley Graham als auch deutsche Mannequins und Bloggerinnen wie Angelina Kirsch oder Charlotte Kuhrt als Revolutionärinnen der Mode- und Medienwelt zelebriert, die das schlanke Schönheitsideal durch ihren Einsatz für ein diverses und positiv besetztes Körperbild in Frage stellen. 

Ganz schön schwanger! Werdende Mütter im Wandel der Zeit

 Obwohl Schwangerschaft und Muttersein untrennbar mit einer Vielzahl von Frauenleben verwoben sind und als Inbegriff von Weiblichkeit gelten, wurden Frauen in diesen bedeutenden Lebensabschnitten in der Vergangenheit häufig zu asexuellen Wesen deklariert, denen es aus moralischen Gründen untersagt war, sich freizügig zu kleiden oder ihre Körper zu entblößen. In der Ausstellung wird Schwangerschaft als ästhetisches und gesellschaftliches Tabu problematisiert und anhand mutiger Protagonistinnen wie der brasilianischen Schauspielerin Leila Diniz oder der Hollywood-Ikone Demi Moore wird veranschaulicht, dass das Zeigen eines Babybauchs noch in der jüngeren Vergangenheit an moralische Grenzen stieß. 

Sex Sells!? – Sexualisierte Darstellungen von Mädchen im Bikini in der Werbung

 Bikini tragende Werbegirls haben ihren Ursprung in der Pin-up-Art, die im Laufe des Zweiten Weltkriegs entstanden ist. Leicht bekleidete Frauen wurden häufig auf den Nasen amerikanischer Kriegsflieger abgebildet, um den Schrecken des Krieges einen Hauch Optimismus zu verleihen. Bald darauf waren Pin-up-Girls auch auf Streichholzschachteln, Keksdosen oder Konservenbüchsen zu sehen und etablierten sich zunehmend und überall in Reklamekonzepten. Neben diesem historischen Abriss wird in der Ausstellung des Weiteren differenziert diskutiert, wie Frauen in Bikinis im Zuge der sexuellen Revolution in den späten 1960er-Jahren zunehmend als Produktwerbemittel instrumentalisiert wurden und inwiefern die Darstellung leichtbekleideter Frauenkörper gegenwärtig die Gemüter erzürnt. 

Thousands Needs

Thousands Need a Helping Hand

Contribute on my charity work by your donation.